Geopark Main Logo

Kinabalu UNESCO

Global Geoparks

Know More
Geopark Main Logo

Kinabalu UNESCO

Global Geoparks

Know More

What is UNESCO Global Geopark?

svg divider

UNESCO Global Geopark are single, unified geographical areas where sites and landscapes of international geological significance are managed with a holistic concept of protection, education and sustainable development.

Unesco aim

During the 38th UNESCO General Conference on the 17th November 2015, the 195 Member States of UNESCO ratified the creation of the new label, UNESCO Global Geoparks. The recognition expresses the importance of managing outstanding geological sites and landscapes in a holistic manner by the governmental bodies.

UNESCO Global Geopark

At present, there are 177 UNESCO Global Geoparks in 46 countries. UNESCO’s Executive Board has approved the designation of 8 new UNESCO Global Geoparks.

There are 8 most recent designated new Global Geopark as of April 2022
  • Seridó UNESCO Global Geopark, Brazil
  • Southern Canyons Pathways UNESCO Global Geopark, Brazil
  • Salpausselkä UNESCO Global Geopark, Finland
  • Ries UNESCO Global Geopark, Germany
  • Kefalonia-Ithaca UNESCO Global Geopark, Greece
  • Mëllerdall UNESCO Global Geopark, Luxembourg
  • Buzău Land UNESCO Global Geopark, Romania
  • Platåbergens UNESCO Global Geopark, Sweden

Read More

Kinabalu UNESCO Global Geopark Video

svg divider

Watch a short video introduction on the Kinabalu UNESCO Global Geopark.


UNESCO Global Geoparks

Download Booklet Read Online

Kinabalu UNESCO Global Geoparks

svg divider

The Kinabalu UNESCO Global Geopark (KUGGp) is located in the north-western part of Sabah, Malaysia. The area covers three districts: Kota Belud, Kota Marudu and part of Ranau. The Kinabalu UNESCO Global Geopark covers an area of 4,750 km2. It covers the entire district of Kota Marudu (1,775 km2), Kota Belud (1,386.52 km2) and part of Ranau district (1,588 km2).

Read More

Main Geological Highlight & Other Elements

svg divider

Geologically, the Kinabalu UNESCO Global Geopark contains the youngest granitoid intrusion in Southeast Asia (7-8 million years old) and an ophiolite sequence representing an ancient oceanic crust (130 million years old) which records the subducted Proto-South China Sea lithosphere. The intrusion has brought up an area over 4000 metres above the present-day sea level, creating an outstanding mountainous landscape. Glacial process on top of Mount Kinabalu during the last Ice Age created the most spectacular glacial landscape in the tropics. At the foothills of Mount Kinabalu, on the Pinousuk Plain forms the most extensive tilloid deposits in Southeast Asia as young as 10,000 years old. Presently, 46 established geosites constitute some of the geological heritage of Kinabalu, and they are what make the regional geological and landscape history unique.

Read More
Geological Highlight

National Geopark

There are 8 National Geopark established in Malaysia and more still in development. To date only Langkawi Geopark has become a UNESCO Global Geopark.

List of recognized National Geopark in Malaysia
  • Langkawi UNESCO Global Geopark   2007
  • Lembah Kinta Geopark   25 October 2018
  • Jerai Geopark   24 November 2018
  • Mersing Geopark   2019
  • Kinabalu Geopark   18 March 2020
  • Lenggong Geopark   16 December 2021
  • Labuan Geopark   16 December 2021
  • Sarawak Delta Geopark   20 June 2022
Geopark Database
Kinabalu UNESCO Global Geoparks Official Database
Access Public DB


svg divider